UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Drug Enforcement Administration

In the Matter of

Schedules of Controlled Substances: Proposed Rescheduling of Marijuana DEA Docket No. 1362 Hearing Docket No. 24-44

ORDER DENYING SECOND MOTION TO RECONSIDER (Barreto)

On November 11, 2024, Nicholas Barreto (Barreto) filed a motion seeking reconsideration (Motion to Reconsider) of this tribunal's November 5, 2024 order declining to act on a motion he filed because the Drug Enforcement Administration Administrator did not designate him as a participant in these proceedings. Yesterday, this tribunal issued an order denying his Motion to Reconsider (Order Denying Motion to Reconsider) in light of Barreto's exclusion from the Designated Participant list issued by the Administrator and failure to advance good cause that would justify reconsideration of the issue.

First thing this morning, Barreto filed an appeal of the Order Denying the Motion to Reconsider (Second Motion to Reconsider (Barreto)). This matter has been decided and will not be revisited or further addressed with subsequent orders by this tribunal.

Accordingly, the Second Motion to Reconsider (Barreto) is herein **DENIED**.

Dated: November 14, 2024

JOHN J. MULROONEY, II Chief Administrative Law Judge

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that the undersigned, on November 14, 2024 caused a copy of the foregoing to be delivered to the following recipients: (1) James J. Schwartz, Esq., Counsel for the Government, via email at james.j.schwartz@dea.gov; Jarrett T. Lonich, Esq., Counsel for the Government, via email at jarrett.t.lonich@dea.gov; and S. Taylor Johnston, Esq., Counsel for the Government, via email at stephen.t.johnston@dea.gov; (2) the DEA Government Mailbox, via email at dea.registration.litigation@dea.gov; (3) Shane Pennington, Esq., Counsel for Village Farms International, via email at spennington@porterwright.com; and Tristan Cavanaugh, Esq., Counsel for Village Farms International, via email at tcavanaugh@porterwright.com; (4) Nikolas S. Komyati, Esq., Counsel for National Cannabis Industry Association, via email at nkomyati@foxrothschild.com; William Bogot, Esq., Counsel for National Cannabis Industry Association, via email at wbogot@foxrothschild.com; and Khurshid Khoja, Esq., Counsel for National Cannabis Industry Association, via email at khurshid@greenbridgelaw.com; (5) John Jones and Dante Picazo for Cannabis Bioscience International Holdings, via email at ir@cbih.net; (6) Andrew J. Kline, Esq., Counsel for Hemp for Victory, AKline@perkinscoie.com; and Abdul Kallon, Esq., Counsel for Hemp for Victory, via email at and AKallon@perkinscoie.com; (7) Erin Gorman Kirk for the State of Connecticut, via email at erin.kirk@ct.gov; (8) Ellen Brown for Massachusetts Cannabis Advisory Board, via email at ellen@greenpathtraining.com; (9) Shanetha Lewis for Veterans Initiative 22, via email at info@veteransinitiative22.com; (10) Jason Castro, Esq., Counsel for The Doc App., Inc. d/b/a My Florida Green, via email at jasoncastro@myfloridagreen.com; (11) Kelly Fair, Esq., Counsel for The Commonwealth Project, via email at Kelly.Fair@dentons.com; (12) Rafe Petersen, Esq., Counsel for Ari Kirshenbaum, via email at Rafe.Petersen@hklaw.com; (13) David G. Evans, Esq., Counsel for Cannabis Industry Victims Educating Litigators, Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America, Phillip Drum, Kenneth Finn, International Academy on the Science and Impacts of Cannabis, and National Drug and Alcohol Screening Association, via email at thinkon908@aol.com; (14) Patrick Philbin, Esq., Counsel for Smart Approaches to Marijuana, via email at pphilbin@torridonlaw.com; and Chase Harrington, Esq., Counsel for Smart Approaches to Marijuana, via email at charrington@torridonlaw.com; (15) Stephanie E. Masker, Esq., Counsel for National Transportation Safety Board, via email at stephanie.masker@ntsb.gov; (16) Eric Hamilton, Esq., Counsel for the State of Nebraska, via email at eric.hamilton@nebraska.gov; and Zachary Viglianco, Esq., for the State of Nebraska, via email at zachary.viglianco@nebraska.gov; (17) Gene Voegtlin for International Association of Chiefs of Police, via email at voegtlin@theiacp.org; (18) Gregory J. Cherundolo for Drug Enforcement Association of Federal Narcotics Agents, via email at executive.director@afna.org; (19) Reed N. Smith, Esq., Counsel for the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, via email at Reed.Smith@ag.tn.gov; and Jacob Durst, Esq., Counsel for Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, via email at Jacob.Durst@ag.tn.gov; (20) Jim Skinner for National Sheriff's Association, via email at sheriffskinner@collincountytx.gov and ykaraman@sheriffs.org; and (21) Nicholas Barreto, via email at nbarreto89@aol.com.

> Quinn Fox Staff Assistant to the Chief Judge Office of Administrative Law Judges